Grand Canyon Law GroupN/a
Every state prosecutes drunk driving harshly, and Arizona is no exception. Among various other sanctions, including steep fines, mandatory driving school, and even jail or prison time, you can expect a license suspension for even a first-time DUI conviction. This suspension can last several months, potentially longer if you have a history of DUI convictions.
However, there are often ways to limit the length and severity of a Tempe DUI driver’s license suspension or get it overturned entirely. Discuss your case with an experienced attorney at Grand Canyon Law Group to learn your legal options. Our legal team is here to answer your questions and fight for your way of life.
Arizona state law defines a standard DUI as driving with a BAC equal to or over 0.08 percent or driving while “impaired” by any type of alcohol, controlled substance, or prescription medication. A conviction for a standard DUI will lead to an automatic 90-day suspension of the driver’s license by the Arizona Department of Transportation. If the driver completes drug and alcohol testing, they may have their suspension reduced to 30 days and then be eligible for a restricted driving permit.
Someone convicted of extreme DUI—meaning they had a BAC between 0.15 and 0.2 percent—is also subject to an automatic 90-day license suspension. The same applies to anyone convicted of super extreme DUI due to a BAC over 0.2 percent.
Arizona Revised Statute §28-1401 allows someone convicted of DUI to request a Special Ignition Interlock Restricted Driver’s License (SIIRDL). They may apply for the SIIRDL immediately after completing drug and alcohol screening. Our seasoned Tempe attorneys can explain how eligible drivers can apply for a restricted driver’s license after a DUI.
An SIIDRL allows a driver to install an ignition interlock device in their vehicle for the duration of their license suspension. The SIIRDL does not include location restrictions, so a driver may use their vehicle to go anywhere they choose during the license suspension period. The time the driver uses an ignition interlock device under the SIIDRL counts toward the period they would be required to use the device after serving a license suspension.
Getting a driver’s license reinstated after a DUI suspension involves paying several fees, completing an alcohol or drug screening, and sometimes presenting proof of an SR-22 certificate or proof of installation of an ignition interlock device. Alternatively, it may be beneficial to request a hearing with the state Motor Vehicle Department before the suspension period takes effect. A skilled Tempe lawyer could work to clear up administrative mistakes and potentially get the DUI license suspension canceled.
Most defendants have 30 days after a DUI conviction to request this type of hearing—and any license suspension period imposed upon them will not begin until those 30 days have passed. However, note that anyone who applies for an SIIRDL waives the right to an administrative hearing. Grand Canyon Law Group can evaluate whether formally petitioning for an MVD hearing or requesting an SIIRDL might be the better choice in a specific case.
Losing your license for any reason can disrupt every part of your life, especially if it stems from a DUI conviction carrying numerous other penalties. Fortunately, you may be able to fight back against your conviction and prevent severe sanctions with help from a capable legal representative.
Dealing with a Tempe DUI driver’s license suspension will be much easier with guidance from our experienced legal team. Contact Grand Canyon Law Group today to learn how we can fight for your rights.