Grand Canyon Law GroupN/a
Arizona state law allows courts to impose enhanced criminal penalties on anyone with repeat convictions for the same offense or different offenses of the same criminal class. However, the law is particular about how courts should treat people convicted more than once of driving under the influence (DUI). While a second-offense DUI in New River is still technically considered a misdemeanor, a repeat conviction will almost always carry harsher penalties, often including mandatory jail time.
Retaining a skilled attorney is essential when you face DUI allegations for the second time within the past several years. Grand Canyon Law Group has experience handling situations like yours and can work tirelessly to resolve your case with minimal impact on your life. We will provide the guidance and support necessary to mount an airtight defense.
Under current Arizona law, anyone convicted of DUI for the second time within seven years may be subject to enhanced penalties for a second-time offense. This includes DUIs in other states as well as drug DUIs. It is worth noting that any time spent incarcerated is not counted in the seven-year period for calculating a second-offense DUI. Additionally, any previous DUI conviction that has been “set aside” still counts as a prior offense in this context.
If someone is convicted of DUI for a second time more than seven years after their first offense, their new charge would be considered a “first offense” for the purposes of criminal sentencing upon conviction. Importantly, though, courts can still use that previous conviction as an aggravating factor, which may result in harsher sanctions. Our seasoned New River attorneys can assess a defendant’s DUI history for potential avenues of defense against a second-time charge.
Someone convicted of second-offense DUI in New River who was arrested with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) between 0.08 and 0.149 percent may be subject to a minimum $3,000 fine and a 90-day jail term. However, 60 days of that term can be suspended pending the completion of alcohol/drug screening, education, and treatment programs. Someone convicted for a second extreme DUI—meaning their BAC was between 0.15 and 0.199 percent—may be subject to minimum sanctions of $3,250 in fines and 120 days in jail. Someone convicted of super extreme DUI—a BAC equal to or greater than 0.20 percent—is subject to $3,750 in fines and a 180-day jail sentence.
All second-time DUI offenders also face additional sanctions, including:
The knowledgeable lawyers at our firm can explain the potential penalties for a second-time DUI in New River and work to build a strong defense.
Second-offense DUIs carry significantly more severe penalties, even if you have no other criminal convictions on your record. However, you have options for proactively contesting this kind of charge with support from experienced legal counsel.
Charges for a second-offense DUI in New River are much easier to handle with a capable lawyer on your side. Get started on your defense strategy by calling Grand Canyon Law Group today.