Child endangerment is a type of criminal charge that can be brought for various acts involving minors (anyone under the age of 18). This is a serious offense with severe penalties under state law. If convicted, you face steep fines and prison sentences, so it is essential to work with a Mesa child endangerment lawyer who can help you mitigate or avoid penalties all together. In addition, it also commonly triggers involvement of DCS (Department of Child Services) or CPS (Child Protective Services), which can be very tricky to navigate and can lead to the separation of families.
If you are facing allegations of endangering a child, contact an experienced attorney at Grand Canyon Law Group as soon as possible to create a proactive defense. The right legal counsel can make all the difference in the outcome of your case.
In Arizona, “endangerment” is when a person recklessly puts someone else at risk of imminent physical injury or death, as provided under § 13-1201(A) of the Arizona Revised Statutes (A.R.S.). Under A.R.S. § 13-105(10)(c), an act is committed “recklessly” when the actor is aware of and consciously disregards an unjustifiable risk. Their disregard must constitute a gross deviation from the standard of conduct a reasonable person would engage in under the circumstances.
Endangering a minor child (i.e., any person under the age of 18) may involve any of the following examples:
Regardless of the specific act for which child endangerment charges are brought, a conviction could lead to severe penalties under Arizona law. Our attorneys have vast experience handling child endangerment cases in Mesa and throughout Arizona, and our background as former prosecutors makes us well-prepared and connected to fight these types of charges.
In Arizona, there are two categories of child endangerment charges. For purposes of sentencing, child endangerment is categorized as either conduct which poses a risk of imminent death to a child, or conduct which only poses an imminent risk of physical injury.
Under A.R.S. § 13-1201(B), putting a child at a substantial risk of physical harm is a class 1 misdemeanor, punishable by six months in prison and a fine of up to $2,500. However, if the charges are for putting a child at imminent risk of death, a person faces sentencing for a class 6 felony, including imprisonment for up to 2 years, but can be far higher if there is an “aggravating” circumstance such as a weapon, the age of the child, if the endangerment was sexual, and if the accused has prior felony convictions. Those charged with child endangerment should take immediate legal action and retain a local attorney at Grand Canyon Law Group to defend against severe consequences.
Having a criminal charge or conviction for child endangerment on your record can significantly impact your reputation and way of life with employment, housing, reputation, and freedom. Perhaps more importantly, it can separate you from your family and loved ones. If you are accused of putting a child at risk of harm, strong legal representation will be crucial to mitigate or avoid steep fines and time in prison.
Discuss your case with a Mesa child endangerment lawyer at our firm and learn more about your legal options for combating the charges against you. You have a way of life worth protecting, so call today to begin working on an effective defense strategy for your circumstances.