Glendale Theft Lawyer
Allegations of theft in Arizona can take on many forms. Of course, it is illegal to take the property of another without their permission. However, the state’s theft laws also aim to punish those who obtain property through false promises, receive stolen goods, or fail to pay for services. Any of these accusations can come with severe consequences upon conviction, making it important to approach these cases with help from a dedicated attorney.
At Grand Canyon Law Group, a Glendale theft lawyer is prepared to present defense on your behalf against these types of charges. We could levy various strategies on your behalf, so reach out to our team today to discuss an effective approach for your circumstances.
Theft Charges Under Arizona Law
The core concept of theft is simple: it is always against the law to take the property of another without proper permission. This permission can include a person’s spoken word or a proper payment for goods or services.
However, state law expands upon this basic concept to cover a wide range of behaviors under its theft statute. Arizona Revised Statute § 13-1802 describes many activities that may result in an arrest for an alleged theft. Beyond the simple taking of property without the owner’s permission, this statute also covers:
- Theft through deception
- The receipt of stolen goods
- Failing to make an effort to learn the true owner of property
Potential Defenses for Larceny and Theft in Glendale
No matter the exact facts that led to an arrest for theft, our firm is prepared to develop a defense that fits the specific facts of a case. This includes debating the true owner of property, disputing whether a defendant had reason to believe an item to be stolen, or even presenting evidence that a defendant lacked the intent to deprive the true owner of property. Our local attorneys could help people to better understand the concept of theft under Arizona law and defend their rights during all court sessions.
Penalties for Theft under State Law
The value of the allegedly stolen property is the biggest factor in determining the severity of charges. As the value of the items rises, the possible penalties for a conviction will also increase.
The simplest charges are for thefts that come to a value of less than $1,000. The law treats these offenses as class 1 misdemeanors, which means that a first offense can bring a maximum jail sentence of six months and the payment of a fine of no more than $2,500. However, a second conviction for theft within two years will automatically make this offense a felony.
Sentencing for Felony Theft Charges
Felony charges will also follow if the value of the items involved is more than $1,000. For example, items with a value of between $1,000 and $2,000 can bring class 6 felony charges. Under state law, mitigating factors can bring a minimum prison sentence of four months. However, aggravating factors in a case could lengthen a sentence to as long as two years.
The most severe examples of theft cases are class 2 felonies that come with a presumptive prisons sentence. A lawyer in Glendale could provide more information about the severity of theft charges and the possible penalties for a conviction.
Contact a Glendale Attorney for Theft Charges
Even a theft case involving an item of minimal value can result in a misdemeanor conviction that creates a criminal record and potentially leads to time in jail. Incidents involving items of a greater value are felonies that bring presumptive prison time upon conviction. It is vitally important that you begin forming a defense against these charges as soon as possible.
Speaking with a Glendale theft lawyer today is the first step in protecting your rights and prospects. The experienced team at Grand Canyon Law Group can work to explain the state’s theft laws and obtain evidence that supports your defense and creates reasonable doubt concerning the case. Contact our law firm now to discuss your situation.