Grand Canyon Law GroupN/a
Drug possession may seem like a low-level crime. However, you need to take the charges seriously to avoid severe consequences. Along with potential jail time and fines, a conviction on your record can lead to future issues with housing and employment. You could even lose student financial aid, the right to own firearms, and the right to vote.
When you are accused of drug possession, reaching out to a skilled attorney should be a top priority. Call a Glendale drug possession lawyer at Grand Canyon Law Group to fight tirelessly for your future.
Although marijuana is illegal at the federal level, it is legal for treating some medical conditions and was legalized in Arizona for recreational use in 2020. Adults over 21 can possess up to one ounce purchased from a licensed dispensary.
Possession of between one and 2.5 ounces is a petty offense carrying up to a $300 fine. Possession of more than 2.5 ounces is a felony. For instance, people charged with possessing four pounds or more face a Class 4 felony with one to 3.75 years in prison, depending on prior offenses and mitigating or aggravating circumstances. Fines here can be up to $150,000.
Minors with less than one ounce of marijuana are usually fined $100 and must participate in four hours of drug counseling. Our drug possession attorneys in Glendale can further explain the potential penalties for cases involving marijuana.
Arizona criminalizes inhaling substances that emit toxic vapors, such as glue and aerosol sprays that release fumes containing benzene, isopropyl alcohol, and butyl alcohol, among others. Possession of toxic inhalants is a Class 5 felony. However, the court can reduce the charge to a Class 1 misdemeanor depending on the circumstances and impose a sentence of up to six months in jail, according to ARS § 13-3403. A Class 5 felony is punishable by six months to 2.5 years behind bars, whether a first or repeat offense.
Of Arizona’s six felony categories, possessing dangerous drugs or narcotics is a Class 4 felony. A conviction leads to prison sentences of one to 3.75 years, whether the accused is a first-time or repeat offender. However, Arizona’s Proposition 200 can offer legal options for first-time offenders, as our Glendale drug possession attorneys can explain.
Arizona’s Proposition 200 allows an alternative to jail time for first-time offenders charged with drug possession. At the court’s discretion, the felony charge can be dropped to probation with no jail time.
Not every first-time offender qualifies, however. Those that do must not have been convicted of any violent crime, possession for the sale of drugs, or possession of methamphetamine. They also cannot have three or more convictions for possession of drugs or paraphernalia on their record. They cannot refuse drug treatment if the judge orders it as a condition of probation. The experienced lawyers at our firm can help determine whether Proposition 200 protection is an option in a drug possession case.
Drug possession charges in Arizona can escalate from petty crimes to years behind bars and thousands of dollars in fines. Penalties are not just for possessing dangerous drugs or narcotics—possessing peyote, toxic inhalants, and marijuana in larger amounts can also lead to criminal consequences.
Let a diligent attorney stand by your side and help you navigate the legal system. Your Glendale drug possession lawyer can help negotiate a plea bargain and work to minimize the penalties you face. Call Grand Canyon Law Group today to learn how we can fight for you and your way of life.