Although penalties vary depending on the specific charge, a conviction for theft can have permanent consequences. If you have been charged with intentionally and unlawfully taking another person’s property, contact a Chandler theft lawyer immediately to discuss your case.
Whether you are falsely accused or made an error in judgment, the right defense is key. The legal professionals at Grand Canyon Law Group are well-versed in different theft types and can guide you through interrogations and hearings. If the case goes to trial, our experienced attorneys can represent you with tireless dedication.
Arizona law recognizes a wide variety of theft charges and classifies them according to the type and severity of the offense. Some of the most common include:
A local larceny attorney could help explain the specific charges in a case and create a defense tailored to the circumstances.
The legal system in Arizona classifies six different theft charges. For a more in-depth explanation of the classifications and their accompanying penalties, speak with a well-researched theft attorney in the area.
A class 1 misdemeanor, or petty theft, features a maximum sentence of 6 months in prison and a fine of no more than $2,500. However, if an individual has more than one theft misdemeanor in two years, the crime becomes a class 6 felony.
Class 2 felony theft concerns monies or properties valued at $25,000 or more. It includes a minimum prison sentence of five-years or maximum of 35-years. If a person stole more than $100,000 worth of property or money, they are ineligible for a pardon, suspended sentence, probation, or early release.
For a theft to be a class 3 felony, the amount stolen must be more than $4,000 but less than $25,000. Minimum and maximum prison sentences are two years and 8.75 years, respectively.
A class 4 felony concerns theft of property worth more than $3,000 but less than $4,000, with vehicle engine and transmission thefts also classified under this category. Sentencing ranges from one to 3.75 years.
Class 5 felonies involve stolen property worth more than $3,000 but less than $2,000. The minimum sentence for a first offense six months but may go up to two and a half years.
A class 6 felony includes stolen property worth more than $1,000 but less than $2,000, as well as firearm thefts. The possible sentence is four months up to two years.
If you are facing charge for stolen property, contact a Chandler theft lawyer as soon as possible. One of the esteemed attorneys at Grand Canyon Law will personally speak with you about your case and work alongside you in every step of the legal process. Do not take chances when it comes to your reputation and freedom. Call us today to get started on your defense.