Although Arizona allows its residents to carry unconcealed firearms without permits, the state still has gun laws in place. If you accidentally violated those laws, are falsely accused of doing so, or require legal assistance for other firearm-related reasons, contact a Chandler gun lawyer to discuss your case.
To protect your right to bear arms, it is advised that you work with an attorney proficient in the state’s gun laws. At Grand Canyon Law Group, our legal team can assert that your gun ownership is legal and responsible in representing your side of the story in court.
According to Arizona Code Chapter 13, Sections 3101 and 3102, it is illegal to carry automatic weapons and devices made to muffle firearm sounds. Rifles featuring gun barrels less than 16 inches wide and shotguns with barrels under 18 inches wide are also prohibited, as are modified rifles or shotguns with barrels less than 26 inches.
Even with a gun permit in Chandler, it is illegal to carry any firearm in the following locations:
For more information on off-limits locations to gun carriers, a well-researched local attorney could provide a deeper explanation.
Although Arizona does not have waiting periods or require certain permits, gun ownership is not open to every resident. For instance, felons convicted on deadly weapon or violence charges cannot own firearms, nor can those in correctional facilities. Anyone who is currently undergoing court-ordered treatment or is considered a danger to themselves or others is also prohibited from owning a weapon.
Importantly, Arizona laws separate open carry from concealed carry. While it is lawful to openly carry or display a gun while in public, permits are required for those who wish to conceal their weapons. Concealed carry permit holders must be legal residents of the United States, at least 21 years old, and without prior history of mental illness or felony convictions. They must also complete a firearms course, although there are no minimum course requirements or specifications for hands-on training.
Gun law violations are classified as either misdemeanors or felonies. For instance, lying to a police officer about carrying a concealed weapon is a class 1 misdemeanor with penalties of up to six months in prison and a maximum fee of $2,500. Minors who carry concealed firearms may face class 3 misdemeanors that include $500 fines and up to 30 days in jail.
Possessing firearms on school grounds is a class 6 felony and could result in up to two years of incarceration. A class 3 felony charge such as selling or furnishing a firearm to a gang or crime syndicate member is punishable by up to 8.75 years in prison. In any of these cases, dedicated legal support from the Chandler gun attorneys at Grand Canyon Law Group may be crucial to mitigate or avoid steep penalties.
If you believe your rights were violated or there was a misunderstanding regarding open versus concealed carry, talk to a Chandler gun lawyer. Our firm is well-versed in a variety of firearms-related cases, and a member of our team can work with you to determine the best strategy for your circumstances. Call today to set up an initial consultation.