Grand Canyon Law GroupN/a
In Arizona, assault charges are either simple misdemeanors or aggravated felonies, depending on various factors. Aggravated assaults are felonies that can lead to substantial prison time, large fines, and required counseling sessions upon conviction. A felony on your criminal record can also impact your prospects long into the future.
Charges for felony assault in Chandler must be met with a proactive defense strategy. Because of the severity of the charges and the impact a conviction will have on your life, you need help from a skilled attorney. Contact the relentless legal team at Grand Canyon Law Group today.
Arizona Revised Statute Section 1204 provides grounds for felony assault charges, which include the following:
Punishment for aggravated assault can be harsh and depends on the accused’s criminal record, age, and contributions to the community. If the assault violated a protective order, this could also affect the potential consequences. Our skilled Chandler lawyers can assess the felony assault charges and build a tailored defense.
Those accused of felony assault have the right to defend themselves in court with legal representation from a seasoned attorney. Some common defenses are often successful, such as arguing self-defense if the injured party provoked or instigated the attack. Our Chandler felony assault lawyers could also argue that the accused person was defending someone else, preventing the commission of a crime, or defending their property.
Additionally, an attorney may be able to raise issues concerning the legality of police procedures during the investigation process or violations of the defendant’s rights. Grand Canyon Law Group will determine the strongest possible defense for the scenario to protect the defendant’s future.
Aggravated assault charges range from Class 6 to Class 2, the most severe, with the following sentences attached if the conviction is for a dangerous offense involving weapons. A.R.S. Sec. 13-704 states that first-time offenders convicted of a Class 6 dangerous felony face 1.5 to 3 years in prison with a presumptive sentence of 2.25 years. Class 2 convictions for first-time offenders committing dangerous crimes come with 7 to 21 years in prison with a presumptive sentence of 10.5 years.
Class 6 felonies with one prior conviction of a dangerous felony double the minimum sentence to 3 years and increase the maximum to 4.5 years with a presumptive sentence of 3.75 years. The minimum penalty for Class 2 felonies with one prior conviction is 14 years, with a maximum of 28 years and a presumptive sentence of 15.75 years. The maximum Class 2 sentence increases to 35 years with a second previous felony. Because the consequences of a felony assault conviction can be so severe, it is crucial to work with a savvy local attorney who can work to get the charges reduced or dismissed.
An arrest for aggravated assault is not a conviction. Many credible defenses are available in most cases, and our team is skilled at building and presenting them in court. We believe you have a way of life worth saving.
If you have been charged with felony assault in Chandler, do not hesitate to give our office a call before you say anything to the police. Grand Canyon Law Group can advise you on what to say and discuss your legal options for defeating the allegations. Call us today.