Assault charges are taken seriously by the Arizona court system. Whether an incident was a momentary lapse in your usual character or an argument that got out of control despite your best efforts, you could face severe penalties if convicted.
To avoid potential fines, reputation damage, or even jail time, do not hesitate to call an experienced criminal defense attorney at Grand Canyon Law Group. The sooner you reach out, the more time we have to formulate a defense and protect your freedoms. If you were involved in a recent altercation, call a hardworking Chandler assault lawyer today. En Español
According to Arizona Revised Statutes §13-1203, assault is defined as knowingly, intentionally, or recklessly inflicting physical injury on another person. This charge could also be brought for intentionally placing another individual in a dangerous or hazardous situation, or knowingly touching someone with the intention of insulting, provoking, or injuring them.
Aggravated assault in Arizona involves serious physical harm, such as injury using a dangerous weapon. A.R.S. §13-1204 also defines aggravated assault as entering private residences with the intention of harming and injuring a physically restrained individual. Adults over the age of 18 who intentionally harm minors aged 15 or younger may also face aggravated assault charges, as do individuals who harm the following service persons:
When facing any degree of assault charges, one’s actions may be classified as intentional, knowing, or reckless. This classification often has a significant impact on the case’s outcome.
If the case is deemed “intentional,” the defendant is accused of engaging in conduct that involves premeditated harm or physical injury. An assault charge classified as “knowing” means the defendant knew or was aware that their conduct could cause harm. A “reckless” classification means the defendant was aware of the serious and unjustified risk to another person but consciously dismissed that risk.
Assault convictions fall into class 1, 2, and 3 misdemeanor categories, with fines ranging from $500 to $2,500 depending on the case. A jail sentence of 30 days, four months, or six months accompanies convictions for class 3, 2, and 1 misdemeanors, respectively.
Unlike misdemeanor charges, aggravated assault is a class 2 to class 5 felony depending on the case. Penalties can include up to 15 years in prison. Although any assault accusation should be taken seriously, those facing aggravated charges in Chandler should immediately contact a persistent Chandler attorney for a rigorous legal defense.
Regardless of the circumstances that lead to a physical altercation or threat, your first priority should be to call a skilled attorney. The former prosecutors at Grand Canyon Law Group understand how to create a strong defense to show the judge or jury that your actions were unintentional, in self-defense, or otherwise out of your control.
If you face these types of criminal charges, contact a Chandler assault lawyer today. Call our firm to discuss your legal options and protect your future.