In Arizona, getting arrested for a DUI can have serious consequences. The type of DUI you face and whether you have any prior offenses will determine the potential penalties. Generally, the court is more lenient on first-time DUI offenders.
If you were arrested and charged with driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol, you should consult a skilled criminal defense attorney. Regardless of the type of DUI charges/offenses you face, Grand Canyon Law Group can advocate on your behalf and negotiate with the prosecutor to reduce your charge if applicable. Do not hesitate to contact our office if you were arrested for a DUI in Arizona.
First Offense DUI
A first-time DUI charge is a Class 1 misdemeanor offense in Arizona. There is a mandatory minimum jail sentence of one to ten days. First-time DUI offenders could also face six months in prison and fines of $250 to $2,500. The probation period after a DUI is up to five years.
Another serious consequence of a DUI is license suspension. In Arizona, drivers charged with a DUI will have their license automatically suspended. During the suspension, they are prohibited from driving. Under limited circumstances, the offender may be eligible for a restricted license to drive to work or school.
Second Offense DUI
In Arizona, someone previously convicted of a DUI in the last five years will face a longer jail sentence than a first-time offender. The minimum jail term for a second offense DUI is thirty to sixty days. When someone has two DUI convictions within five years, they could face a one-year driver’s license revocation and must apply for reinstatement at the end of the period. The court could also require repeat DUI offenders to install and maintain a vehicle interlock system on their cars for a certain amount of time after the incident.
An extreme DUI is a more serious type of charge. When someone has a blood or breath alcohol level higher than the statutory limit, they face an elevated charge. The standard blood alcohol level for DUIs in Arizona is a blood alcohol level of 0.08 percent. For extreme DUIs, the threshold is 0.15 percent. An extreme DUI has a mandatory jail sentence of thirty days and carries hefty fines. Drivers could also be subject to other penalties such as probation, license suspension, and vehicle interlock devices.
If someone is charged with an extreme DUI and has a prior conviction within the previous seven years, they will face a mandatory jail sentence of 120 days. Upon release, the court will require the driver to use a vehicle interlock device if their license is reinstated.
In Arizona, aggravated DUIs are among the most serious types of DUI charges. An aggravated DUI involves circumstances that make it more egregious than other cases, such as driving under the influence:
- Without a valid license
- With two prior convictions within seven years
- With a child under the age of fifteen
Someone convicted of an aggravated DUI could face a minimum of four months in prison and a probationary period upon release. The mandatory revocation period after an aggravated DUI is three years.
Consult a Lawyer on the Types of DUI Charges
When you are charged with a DUI, it is crucial to contact a nearby attorney as soon as possible. In some cases, a seasoned lawyer can negotiate with prosecutors to reduce charges or negotiate a plea agreement on your behalf.
At Grand Canyon Law Group, we understand how stressful DUI charges can be and want to help you obtain the best possible result for your case. Contact us today to discuss the types of DUI charges/offenses and get legal guidance on your situation.