The Importance of 0.08%

a person opening a green bottle behind the wheel of a car

For some people, 0.08 may have little to no meaning. For law enforcement, that number is crucial to determining the consequences for someone accused of DUI.

According to the U.S. federal government, you are considered legally impaired when your blood alcohol content (BAC) is 0.08% or higher. While that might not be a big deal if you have a few glasses of wine at home, there can be severe legal consequences if you decide to operate a vehicle while legally impaired.

My BAC Was Under 0.08%, But I Was Arrested

According to Arizona law, even if your BAC wasn’t at 0.08, you can still be arrested if the officer who pulled you over believes you are impaired. Different amounts of alcohol can affect different people because of their body mass index; the less you weigh, the more likely you will be affected by a given amount of alcohol. One beer will likely impact a 100-pound woman more than a 200-pound man. It’s important to recognize your limits with alcohol before getting behind the wheel.

In most cases, a BAC of 0.05% and under is generally considered legal. This is considered a low enough level that it does not impair a person’s driving.

What Happens When My BAC is 0.08% or Above?

Arizona is known to have some of the strictest laws regarding driving under the influence. While this is good for keeping our roads safe, the consequences of receiving a DUI are also greater than in other states.

According to Arizona law, if you are stopped on the side of the road, and a test shows you have an alcohol concentration of 0.08% percent or more, you lose your driving privilege on the spot. If it is your first DUI, you will be required to stay in jail for no less than ten days and will also be fined a minimum of $1,250. Additionally, you will have to perform community service and undergo alcohol screening, education, or treatment. You will also be required to operate your vehicle with a certified ignition interlock device.

The consequences of a DUI become more severe if you receive multiple within 84 months.

Discuss the Importance of 0.08% With a Lawyer

A best practice when you are planning on consuming alcohol is to have a plan for getting home. If you are going out with friends, have someone act as the designated driver. Call an Uber or a friend nearby and have them drive you home if you are alone. It is always better to be cautious than to risk a DUI.

We understand that plans do not always pan out. If you need a lawyer to fight for you in court, call Grand Canyon Law Group today to speak with one of our experienced DUI lawyers. We can explain the importance of 0.08% and work to protect your rights.